Skip to content

AAUW Medina County Branch offers scholarships

2017 January 30

The Medina County Branch of the American Association of University Women is accepting applications for two $1,000 scholarships to be given to “non-traditional” women undergraduate students who will be attending an accredited college or university for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Carol Rommel and Denise Douglas (center) were awarded scholarships by the Medina Country Branch in 2010. They were accompanied by daughters, Cheyenne Rommel (far left), sophomore at Cloverleaf High School, and Elizabeth Douglas (far right), new graduate of the University of Akron.

Applicants must be residents of Medina County. The deadline for submission of the application, college transcript, and professor recommendations is April 1, 2017.

The scholarship will be awarded on the basis of financial need, academic achievement, and clarity of stated goals and objectives. The applicant must be attending an accredited college/university.

A “non-traditional” student is a woman who has returned to college to finish an undergraduate degree, or a woman who delayed entering college for several years after completing high school or earning a GED.

For information or applications, call Cheri Ingraham, Scholarship Committee Chair, at 330-723-3355 and leave a telephone number, or contact her by email at

Information is available through The Akron Community Foundation at You may also visit the AAUW Medina Branch web page:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS